- Facts and Stories Worth Knowing
- This picturesque building has housed a post office, shoe store,
antiques store, and dentist's office.
- Notice the second-story semi-circular window, the two twin windows in the top floor, and the flower-like scroll work under the roof line.
- When the adjacent Jacob furniture store burned down on February 26, 1974 (see newspaper article below) and left 1206 East Carson Street with a scarred brick wall, architect John Martine designed a trompe-l'oeil mural in the style of the main street façade.
- On October 16, 1981, the Birmingham mural was dedicated and a parklet was later created in the corner lot. Arlington School students helped the Western Pennsylvania Conservancy plant the parklet garden in May 2005.
- Birmingham was the original name of the area between S. 6th and S. 17th Streets, laid out in 1811 by Dr. Nathaniel Bedford, Pittsburgh's first physician and a son-in-law of John Ormsby, who was the “father” of the South Side.
- Dr. Nathaniel Bedford chose the name "Birmingham" for the south side area in honor of his birthplace, Birmingham England, a noted iron and coal producing center at the time. The name was appropriately given, since this area would eventually surpass its namesake in iron and coal production.